JOIN THE BNMS             


Twitter @BNMSnews

Meetings and Events

BNMS 2011 Prize Winners

BNMS Poster Prizes Sponsored by GE

3rd Prize
Poster 15  REVIEW: 18F-FDG PET/CT and MRI in cervical cancer: Current evidence and future directions.

St Joseph EV1, Gauthaman N3, Jackson PE2, Gnanasegaran G2
1King's College London School of Medicine,
2Department of Nuclear Medicine and Clinical PET Guys and St Thomas' Hospital NHS Foundation Trust,
3Queen Elizabeth Hospital, London, UK

Manchester Spring 2009 BNMS Prize Winners

BNMS Prize Winners - Manchester 2009

All the winners of our annual prize awards presented at the BNMS Spring Meeting in Manchester.


BNMS 2008 Prize Winners

BNMS 2008 Spring Meeting Edinburgh

Prize Winners

Student Prize

Based on submission alone

1st        A Weeks, D Lloyd, University of Kent, R Paul, P Marsden, P Blower, King’s College London.

Hypoxia-targeted radionuclide therapy: hypoxia-selective toxicity and       DNA     damage induced by 64CuATSM. 

2nd       K Hillman, J Fleming, G Gwynne, F Sundrum, Southampton University Hospitals Trust.

Comparison of relative renal function measurements from geometric mean and posterior – only analysis using simulated images. 

3rd        L O’Brien, Royal West Sussex NHS Trust, M J Guy, J W Scuffham, Y W Ho, Royal Surrey County Hospital.

PACS display assessment for nuclear medicine images. 

Technologist Poster

S Baker, St Thomas’ Hospital Clinical PET Centre, London

CT incidental findings: consideration for a PET/CT technologist. 

Technologist Oral 

J Harris, G Satterthwaite, C Walker, N Nagaraj, Department of Nuclear Medicine, Southampton General Hospital

Four years on – follow up on non-clinician led pharmacological cardiac stress (NCS) 

Poster Prize 

1st        A Parthipun, B Hughes, P Hadway, T Swallow, M Shabbir, S Heenan, C Corbishley, N Watkin, St George’s Hospital, London.

The combined role of ultrasonographic guided fine needle aspiration and sentinel lymph node biopsy in nodal staging of patients with penile squamous cell carcinoma. 

2nd       T Szyszko, Hammersmith Hospitals NHS Trust, M Easty, L Biassoni, Great Ormond Street Hospital London.

Indications for VQ scanning in the paediatric population: current trends. 

3rd (joint)          A Parthipun, B Hughes, M Shabbir, T Swallow, S Heenan, C Corbishley, N Watkins, St George’s Hospital London

The role of dynamic lymphoscintigraphy with sentinel node biopsy and ultrasound guided fine needle aspiration cytology in the management of squamous cell carcinoma of the penis. 

3rd (joint)          B Hutton, K Erlandsson, K Kacperski, D Van Gramberg, Institute of Nuclear Medicine UCL London,  N Roth, Spectrum Dynamics, Haifa, Israel.

Recommendations on QC procedures for a non-conventional SPECT system. 

Young Investigator Prize 

            F M  Lavender, R T Meades, A Al-Nahhas, K S Nijran, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust London.

             A comparative study of softwares used for LVEF quantification in myocardial perfusion imaging. 

Multimodality Poster Prize

            M Guy, M Pryor, Department of Medical Physics, Royal Surrey County Hospital UK.

             Simulation of the Infinia II Hawkeye SPECT CT system and example applications. 

Multimodality Oral Prize

            P J Schleyer, M J O’Doherty, V Warbey, S F Barrington, P K Marsden, Guy’s King’s and St. Thomas’ School of Medicine.

             Data driven respiratory gating for PET and CT imaging. 

Oral Presentation Prize

1st        R Paul, P Halsted, P Marsden, P Blower, King’s College London.

Routine availability of CU-61 and CU-64 for clinical PET applications. 

2nd       V Helyar, King’s College London, H Mohan, T Barwick, Department of Nuclear Medicine Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS foundation trust.

The added value of multislice SPECT/CT in patients with equivocal bony metastasis from carcinoma of the prostate.

3rd        W Tomson, J Cullis, J O’Brien, City Hospital Birmingham.

Variations in Butterworth filter definitions and an algorithm for uniformity.

Meeting or Course Endorsement & Support

The BNMS recognises the importance of regional meetings and courses in the provision of training and education and aims to support the ongoing organisation and promotion of these meetings in all regions to ensure that meetings continue to be held regularly throughout the UK.

The BNMS events team is able to provide support, from simply promoting your meeting via the BNMS website and members’ newsletters to programme and announcement templates and CPD application.

To find out more about how we can help with your regional meeting view the support document below

Regional Meeting Support Document

New Events Calendar Upload Guide

The BNMS Events Calendar has been updated to a new personalised system for event organisers and promoters! You will be able to enjoy the flexibility of displaying your events your way, with the tools to add, edit and feature. 

To help you get started we have created a user friendly guide which you can view below.

We would really appreciate it if you could take the time to get to know this new tool to make your listing really stand out.
You will find out that you can:
  • edit text
  • add an image
  • add/modify back cover
  • add url links
Any problems in listing your event? Email us at


BNMS 2018 Committees and Chairs

Scientific & Education Committee
Co-Chair - Dr Stewart Redman
Co-Chair - Dr Sabina Dizdarevic
Dr Ian Armstrong
Dr Parthiban Arumugam
Dr Brent Drake
Dr Bev Ellis
Dr Francis Sundram
Mr Nick Gulliver
Mr Andrew Irwin
Mrs Jilly Croasdale
Dr Manil Subesinghe
Dr Teresa Szyszko
Dr Vineet Prakash
Dr Andre Nunes
Conference Secretariat
Ms Charlotte Weston
Mrs Elena Gilbert
Mrs Caroline Oxley
Mr Le Thoai
Dr Charlotte Fowler
Dr Stewart Redman
Dr Manil Subesinghe
Mr Andy Irwin
Dr Chris Mayes
Mr Joseph Purden
Dr Diana Rosof-Williams
Dr John Buscombe
Dr Wai Lup Wong
Dr Richard Graham
Miss Carla Abreu
Mr Rob Stewart
Mr Nick Gulliver
Miss Ana Matos
Dr John Dickson
Mr Andy Irwin
Mr Nicolas Eftychiou
Dr Luigi Aloj
Dr Sabina Dizdarevic
Dr Sue SC Chua
Dr Sabina Dizdarevic
Dr Imene Zerizer
Dr Francis Sundram
Prof Jasna Mihailovic
Dr Vineet Prakash
Dr John Buscombe
Dr Mary Prescott
Mrs Sandra Johns
Ms Claire Liddell
Dr Chris Mayes
Miss Ana Matos
Miss Carla Abreu
Miss Emily Seal
Miss Katherine Day
Miss Marguerite Meintjes
Mr Daniel McCool
Ms Sarah Allen
Dr Parthiban Arumugam
Dr David Little
Dr Iain Murray
Dr Peter Julyan
Mr Ian Armstrong
Prof Richard Lawson
Dr Bev Ellis
Miss Shazmeen Hansrod
Ms Jilly Croasdale
Mr Jose Calero
Dr Liz Prvulovich
Dr Nitasha Singh
Dr Simon Hughes
Prof Kemal Dizdarevic
Dr Leon Menezes
Dr Teresa Szyszko
Dr Alexis Corrigan
Dr Deborah Pencharz
Dr Eliana Reyes
Dr Gill Vivian
Dr Sabina Dizdarevic
Dr Yong Du
Dr Leon Menezes
Prof Gary Cook
Poster Judges
Dr Sue Chua
Dr Nitasha Singh
Mrs Sandra Johns
Dr David Little - Poster Chair
Dr Alexis Corrigan
Dr Asim Afaq
Ms Louise Fraser
Dr Thomas Gruning
Dr Liz Prvulovich
Dr Deborah Pencharz
Mr Daniel McGowan
Dr Teresa Szyszko
Miss Marguerite Meintjes
Dr Kshama Wechalekar